The Crisp Packet

It was a funny old thing, that crisp packet….it looked and smelt so inviting but it wasn’t very big and it definitely wasn’t very warm.  My Mummy had taught me to make sure I found somewhere safe and warm to cozy up in before my big sleep.  And so there I was, on Oxton Road in Weston-super-Mare, attempting to prepare for my hibernation.

Once inside, I thought that I would be safe.  And I was…kind of.  But it wasn’t very warm and I couldn’t settle.  I just rustled around a lot.  I missed my Mummy.

A shopkeeper nearby must have noticed the packet moving.  Before too long, there were lots of people near me.  There was a lot of noise and commotion when they tried to rescue me – the crisp packet was behind an iron grid and they needed to cut it all free to reach me.  I was a little frightened but after a while I soon realised that they were trying to help me.

After what seemed like ages, I was taken back to a very special place where lots of other hedgehogs were being looked after (this is Prickles Hedgehog Rescue in Cheddar, Somerset) and Jules and Cate checked me over.  I didn’t weigh very much apparently (only 283gms) and I was very cold and needed something to drink.

After a good feed and some proper rest tucked up in my own crate in the warm, I’m bouncing back.  I now weigh 533gms and with every new day, I look forward to my little plate of chicken cat meat and mealworms! Yummy!

I do miss my litter chums, and especially my mummy.  I hope one day in the Spring I can go back to where I was found and meet up with them all again.  That would be lovely.

I will catch up with you again soon.

Love Crispian x

2 thoughts on “The Crisp Packet

Leave a Reply

